Each itinerary has its peak to climb, and that of the Diocesan Museum overlooks the sea from the top of the Guasco Hill. Protected by the walls of the Cathedral, surrounded by the sea and liven up by the presence of visitors and locals who love to sit on the benches of the belvedere, this museum contains artworks imbued with symbolism.

WHAT TO SEE!

A visit to the Palazzo del Vecchio Episcopio (Old Episcope Palace) reveals unique views from its glass windows and interesting architectural elements. The works of art are set in 18 rooms that will allow you while visiting the Museum to discover a collection of sculptural sets, stone fragments, parchments, a numismatic collection, jewellery, terracotta, paintings on wood and canvas, precious fabrics and four Flemish tapestries from the 17th century woven on cartoons by P.P. Rubens. This heterogeneous collection of works shows a cultural heritage full of meanings and symbols.

The Museum has got two floors and 18 rooms with over 460 artworks that are arranged according to chronological and thematic criteria, recreating the main events of the art and history of the city. You can admire sculptures, stone fragments, parchments, precious fabric and tapestries, a numismatic collection, jewellery, terracotta, paintings on wood and canvas. Some examples of exceptional artistic quality are the sarcophagus of Gorgonio belonging to the IV century, the Evangeliary of Saint Marcellino of the VI century, the silk cloth of Saint Ciriaco of the X century and the Flemish tapestries woven on cartoons drawn by P.P. Rubens. The museum also serves as a testimony of the Christian community of the local territory; knowing the levels of interpretation of the preserved objects (aesthetic-artistic, iconological, historical, liturgical) is useful to understand them completely. They provide a guided tour of the museum, allowing visitors to better enjoy the collection.

The first nucleus of the museum, called the Christian Antiques Museum,  has been located in the Cripta delle Lacrime (the Tears Crypt) since 1834 in the St Ciriaco Cathedral and was commissioned by Archbishop Card. Cesare Nembrini Pironi Gonzaga (1768-1837).

The collection was made of material deriving from the Cathedral restoration, and by further finds of other churches of Ancona. In 1952 the dome was restored, and at that time the collection was transferred to some rooms of the Old Episcope that, nonetheless, was seriously damaged by the earthquake that hit Ancona in 1972. After a long period of restorations and reconstructions, the Diocesan Museum reopened in 1993, thanks to the strong interest of its director Monsignor Cesare Recanatini, after whom the museum is named today.

The Museum is very active in the territory and organizes thematic itineraries for families, adults, catechetical groups, educational activities for schools of all levels, evening openings, exhibitions, concerts and conferences. These activities aim to make the museum institution more alive and accessible to all.

OPENING HOURS / CONTACTS

ADDRESS: Piazzale del Duomo, 9 - ANCONA
TELEPHONE: +39 320 8773610

Due to the Covid-19 emergency, from 31 May the museum will be open only on Sundays until further notice (opening hours: 10:00-12.00/16.00-19.00). From Monday to Saturday, visits will be available only upon reservation by telephone at 320 8773610 (at least two days' notice). You can view the Diocesan Museum Guidance here: Diocesan Museum Guidance

OPENING HOURS (from October to March)
Saturday-Sunday - 10.00 - 12.30 / 15.00 - 18.00

 

HOURS (from April to September)
Saturday-Sunday - 10.00 - 12.30 / 16.00 - 19.00

TICKETS
are free of charge for guided tours.
The Museum provides guided tours out of the opening hours for schools of all levels, groups and associations.

For information and reservations +39 320 8773610